Life Lately – New Job!

Well, so much for Life Lately becoming a regular feature on this blog! I’m not sure if it can be called ‘regular’ when there’s over a 2 month gap between posts but never mind. It’s here now!

My big news and the reason I’m finally writing a Life Lately blog (as you can probably tell from the title) is that I got a new job!

I was previous working on a project with the local council but it was a contracted position for 2 years so I finished with that in December 2016. Unfortunately since then, it’s been 5 1/2 months of unemployment and I can tell you now, it sucked. My boyfriend and I met in that role so we were both facing the same challenges and worries going into 2017:

  • Money to pay for bills (though thankfully we’d saved quite a bit to keep us going)
  • Fear of not being good enough for the jobs we applied for
  • Rejection from said jobs
  • The long and tedious process of preparing for interviews
  • Friends and family regularly asking “How’s the job hunt going?” (I can tell you now, it’s a rubbish question to ask someone who’s been unemployed for a while)
  • Fear of not getting a job and having to move out of our flat

Of course, being a glass half-full kinda person, there were some upsides too:

  • Spending time with my boyfriend
  • Spending time with family
  • Starting this blog (having a creative outlet)
  • Being able to re-organise our house
  • Being able to do whatever we wanted, whenever we wanted (or not do anything!)

Naturally, the latter two got old pretty fast. I do like routine in my life and I missed not having a purpose to get up in the mornings which meant a lot of lazy days and subsequently, a lot of down days.

Anyway, onto happier things! My boyfriend and I are finally employed and really enjoying our new (different) jobs – yay! I’m now working as a “Website Administrator” for a local company and to say I’m happy would be an understatement. I’ve always been interested in this area of work, building my own websites and blogs since I was 13 or 14 so it has worked out perfectly.

I just finished my second week and although there has been a lot to take in – getting familiar with the systems used, understanding the products we sell, getting used to all the tasks involved, and not least of all, getting to know my colleagues – I’m really enjoying it so far.

Essentially, I’ll be adding products to their retail website for customers to buy, and managing the other company websites including adding new content and making improvements, though there is also a lot of analytics work to it too. I’m sure for many people that sounds boring but to me it’s all really interesting! It’s really satisfying to see the results of the work I’m doing already. I’m excited to see what it brings!

As a side note/heads up/warning:

Although it hasn’t really been the case in recent weeks, I was trying to write 2 blogs a week, however, as I’ll now be working 40 hours a week, I’ll only probably manage to blog once a week from now on. I’m still committed to this blog though so I’m still planning to get content up on here!

Anywho, that’s all from me just now, I’m off to iron clothes (didn’t miss that!) and have a cup of tea – I know, I lead an exciting life! Wish me luck in the job!

I hope you’re all doing well 🙂


What have you guys been up to? Tell me in the comments below!
One thought on “Life Lately – New Job!

Leave a Reply

