Life Lately – Easter Weekend

I’ve been thinking about doing this kind of post for a wee while now and I think it might end up as a regular feature on my blog, depending on what I’ve been up to! So here’s my first ‘Life Lately’ blog post! This covers from the beginning of April until now 🙂

As I mentioned in my 12 Things You Didn’t Know About Me post, I am currently learning to drive. This was born out of the fact that my provisional licence expires in November and rather than pay for another one, I decided it was time to get my full licence.

So, on the first weekend of April, I went out driving with my dad for a few hours each day. It was a challenge at first, unsurprisingly. I knew the basics, having already started learning 10 years ago and I’d started doing revision for the theory test but it was so different being in a car again and putting everything back into practice.

It took a while to get used to the managing the clutch again and controlling the clutch with the break when slowing down was difficult. By the end of each session, my head was pounding and my calves/feet were so sore! I guess it’ll take some getting used to! It was really good to get out driving again though and I’m looking forward to doing more lessons and finally getting my licence!

Last week it was my sister’s 30th birthday. She didn’t want to do anything big so she organised a birthday lunch with our family, her partner’s family and some friends. We all got together last Sunday at her favourite restaurant and it was great! I got to see my nephew and my niece which I will never complain about and I also got to spend time with my older brother and my granny who I don’t often see since they live further away! My sister really enjoyed herself, the company was great and the food was awesome so all in all, a pretty good day!

After the lunch, my boyfriend and I went to his parent’s house to dog sit while they were away east for a holiday. Their dogs are great and it’s always fun/interesting looking after them. One of them is a Rhodesian Ridgeback while the other is a Border Terrier. Kali, the ridgeback, is so funny because she’s basically a combination of Bambi and Scooby Doo which is pretty uncommon for her breed! Kira, the terrier, is so moody but she loves to cuddle up to you so we had some lazy times chilling on the couch and watching telly.

When we returned home from dog sitting, we had my boyfriend’s nephew over to the house for a sleep over. As soon as they were in the door, they started a Nerf gun war with about 4 different guns which was…interesting to watch, to say the least! We watched TV, went out for a walk, played Dobble and the Wii (Mario Karts for the win!). I wasn’t feeling too well this morning after a bad night’s sleep so they went out for ice cream and a wander while I caught up on sleep! He was only here for a day and a half but it was great having him over and doing something a bit different!

Now after a busy few days, it’s time to make myself a cup of tea and eat some chocolate. Happy Easter (when it comes) for those of you who celebrate! For those of you who don’t – enjoy your weekend! I hope you’ve got yourself some chocolate anyway! 😀


What’s new with you guys? Let me know what you’ve been up to in the comments below!
One thought on “Life Lately – Easter Weekend

Leave a Reply

